Art And Entertainment

2021 Entertainment Awards Show Guide: When, Where To Watch

167Views

The entertainment industry is navigating unchartered territory in these unprecedented times, given the global impact of the coronavirus pandemic. In spite of it all, the awards season will press ahead. Why? As the late Ethel Merman observed in 1953, “There’s no business like show business, and I tell you it’s so. … Let’s go on with the show.”

Groups that hand out awards are rethinking the entire operation: postponing ceremonies and broadcast dates, restructuring eligibility requirements and making other changes.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which holds the Oscars annually, started the trend last year when it pushed back the 93rd Academy Awards ceremony to April 25. Since then, other awards shows followed. But with so many of them to keep an eye on, it can get a bit confusing. That’s where we come in.

Below, we have your complete guide to this year’s awards shows. Let the count down begin, and good luck predicting the winners!


(Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

2021 Golden Globes

The 78th annual Golden Globes ceremony will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California, on Feb. 28 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET and will air on NBC. Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, who hosted the awards show from 2013 – 2015, will return as masters of ceremonies this year. Nominations for the Golden Globes will be announced on Feb. 3.


(Christopher Polk/Getty Images)

2021 Critics Choice Awards

The 26th annual Critics Choice Awards will air on The CW network on March 7 at 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET with Taye Diggs serving as the awards show’s host for the third consecutive time. Netflix’s “Ozark” and “The Crown” lead the pack of TV nominees, with six nods each. Nominations for the film categories will be announced on Feb. 7.

The 63rd annual Grammy Awards will take place at the Los Angeles Convention Center on March 14 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET and will be broadcasted live on CBS. Beyonce leads the nominees with nine nods. Dua Lipa, Roddy Ricch and Taylor Swift follow closely behind with six nominations each.


(Christopher Polk/Getty Images for Turner)

2021 Screen Actors Guild Awards

The 27th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will take place on Easter Sunday at 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will air on TNT and TBS. Nominations will be announced on Feb. 4 for releases between Jan. 1, 2020, and Feb. 28, 2021.


(Ian Gavan/Getty Images)

2021 British Academy of Film and Television Arts Awards

The 74th BAFTA Film Awards will take place on April 11, and nominations will be announced on March 9. The eligibility period was extended to all of 2021.


(Courtesy of Film Independent)

2021 Independent Spirit Awards

The 2021 Independent Spirit Awards will be held on April 22, and it will air live on IFC at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET. Nominations for the 36th Film Independent Spirit Awards were to be announced on Tuesday.


(Christopher Polk/Getty Images)

The Oscars

The 93rd Academy Awards will take place on April 24 at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California, and it will be broadcasted live on ABC. Nominations for the 2021 Oscars will be announced on March 15, with the eligibility period for releases from Jan. 1, 2020, through Feb. 28, 2021.


Related